Our people

Head of Department

Professor Tony Harland


Candi Young - Administrator & Kaiāwhina Māori
Joanne Smith - Administrative Assistant & PA to the HoD

Research groups

Higher Education Policy and Practice

Professor Kerry Shephard
Dr Vivienne Anderson - Senior Lecturer

Educational Technology

Dr Ben Daniel - Coordinator & Senior Lecturer
Russell Butson - Senior Lecturer
Gala Hesson - Professional Practice Fellow
Minjie Hu - Professional Practice Fellow
Swee Kin Loke - Professional Practice Fellow
Adon Moskal - Professional Practice Fellow
Richard Zeng - Professional Practice Fellow

Evaluation Research & Development

Dr Clinton Golding - Coordinator & Senior Lecturer
Joanne Kennedy - Evaluations Coordinator
Allen Goodchild - Evaluations Administrator
Julie Samson - Evaluations Assistant

Student Learning Development

Dr Vijay Kumar Mallan - Coordinator, Senior Lecturer & Deputy Head of Department
Carole Scott - Administrative Coordinator SLC Programmes
Hayley Horwood - Receptionist/Administrative Assistant
Dr Jenny McDonald - Lecturer
Dr Rob Wass - Lecturer
Carole Acheson - Professional Practice Fellow (Christchurch)
Karen Johnson - Professional Practice Fellow (Wellington)
Pauline Brook - Teaching Fellow

Research support

Lynley Deaker - Assistant Research Fellow

Affiliated staff

Professor Rachel Spronken-Smith - Dean (Graduate Research School)
Dr. Sarah Stein - Director (Distance Learning)
Dr Carol Bond - Honorary Senior Lecturer
Ayelet Cohen - Honorary Research Fellow
Dr Angela McLean - Honorary Lecturer